April A-Z Challenge, April 30, Letter Z: Zoo

The A-Z blog challenge for April 2014 is drawing to a close. Wow, I can say that I made the challenge a real success, I feel it has helped re-motivate me in the writing area of my life, and I was never late on 1 blog entry!  YAY, I feel a sense of accomplishment! LOL

For my last blog, anyone who knows me could predict what I wanted to blog about for the letter Z. Yes, that’s right, the Zoo.

I worked at the Assiniboine Park Zoo in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada for 7 years, from 1999 – 2006. Although I have not worked there for 7-8 years now, it is still fresh in my mind. I have literally thousands of special memories, funny stories, nostalgic thoughts, and fantastic friends from those times. Although I don’t think about the zoo quite as much as I used too, I do think about it a LOT. It’s like the place infected me over those 7 years I was there. I spent so much time there, many weeks working overtime, that the people, the animals, the buildings, and the work seeped into my pours. It’s hard to split myself out from that wonderful place. When I started working there at age 17, I had no idea I was going to be there 7 years, and have so much fun. Have you ever had a job where you made some special life-long friends, had crazy situations happen almost every day, and were able to take busy days in stride and be able to laugh your face off at the end? Well that’s what the zoo was to me, and these are some of the special memories that stay in the forefront of my mind. I often think I need to write everything down into my zoo memoirs, and in fact I have started doing that. I want to finish a bunch of other writings before I get back to that and flesh out the memoirs, but at least all the summary notes are written! And it really motivates me in my career planning, career thinking, and pondering what my life direction is … I want to be somewhere like that again, where work is a super fun place I want to be … not a place that envelops me of course to the point that I don’t have healthy work-life balance anymore … but a place that gives me true joy and passion … don’t know what that is yet, but I hope to find it for a second time one day … because the Zoo was that place for me once before! 🙂

winnipegzoo

