Writing 101 – June 2014 Challenge – Writing About Loss

Today’s assignment is writing about a loss, a person that was in your life at one time but is not any longer, for whatever reason.

The first person that comes to mind in this is my brother, Jeremy. He passed away a long time ago now, but not a day goes by that I don’t think about him. I think about past memories, I think about what our friendship and our relationship as siblings would be like if he were alive today, and I think about what his future would be like. Would he be married to a partner, would he have kids?

Although I am often saddened that I don’t have a brother alive on this earth, I also think a lot about how lucky I am that I have two sisters alive. And in fact, losing my brother drew me a lot closer to my two other siblings, and made me realize how important it is to have siblings. I am often surprised at people who don’t get along with their siblings or who feel those relationships are not that important. I want to say, “you’re so lucky to have those, I know what it’s like to lose a sibling and not have that opportunity!” I know sometimes complex situations arise for people, but I know that’s just my first reaction based on my own story and journey. In any event, although I am sad my brother is not here, I am close to my two sisters, of which I am very grateful.

I also believe that when we die on this earth, we move on to the next phase of our existence. Our soul, our spirit, our essence, moves on. Whether you want to call it heaven or another plane of existence, I believe this in my heart. I truly believe there is a higher power, call it God, who guides us on that path. And I also believe those who have left before us can sometimes help watch over us and guide us in our journey here. And so it makes me smile to think my brother can provide that guidance to me, and help make me a better person and care for me.

Although I miss his physical presence on this earth, and will always love him dearly, no question, it is also interesting to me how his passing impacted my life, reinforced my relationships with other people on this earth, and informed my spirituality.

