Writing 101 – June 2014 Challenge – Report from a Cafe

In this blog entry, our assignment is to report from a cafe on some observations we saw or witnessed.  Although I did not have a chance to stay long due to a busy day, I popped in to my local Second Cup Cafe (Canadian coffee shop chain) and I made the following observations:

– I chatted with one of the baristas who I haven’t seen for a long time, but we always have had a great rapport.  I have chatted with her on and off for years, and she is fantastic.  It was nice to see her again and quickly catch up!

– I noticed the crowd in the cafe had a lot more senior citizens in it than usual, although I felt that was a nice thing 🙂  Usually they seem to be at Tim Horton’s, lol, but today for some reason they were at Second Cup in greater numbers!  Nice to see more diversity of age today!

– A staff person had to get a bottle of vanilla syrup from the top shelf, and underneath was a table where two people were sitting.  She just calmly walked over, got a chair right from the table they were at, stood on it, took the syrup off the shelf above them, got down, replaced the chair, and walked away, all in one fluid motion, without even saying anything! It was something to see, lol. I don’t think she was trying to be rude or anything, she just didn’t want to interrupt the two people’s conversation.  It was something to behold, lol.

– I saw a diversity of cultures in the coffee shop too, very normal for Canada and Winnipeg.  But people were working together to break down language barriers and communicate effectively, even if first languages were different for various individuals (e.g.: customers and staff).  Again, very nice to see, makes me proud to be a Winnipegger and a Canadian 🙂

Overall, this was a busy day, but fun to make these observations and take some time in a busy day to just observe some human interactions.  So much of the time we forget to take the time to consider we live in a great, wide world, with our human cohort all around us!

 

